If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI in the San Fernando Valley, you’re going to need an attorney who has experience, connections and has handled a lot of cases in the San Fernando Valley courthouses.  Fortunately, you’ve landed on this website.

I’ve been handling DUIs in the San Fernando Valley now for almost 30 years.  I’ve appeared in every courtroom in the San Fernando Valley and I know how to get the result that you’re seeking.

Review of the DUI Arrest

Obviously, we’re going to have to sit down in the privacy of my office, go over your case, talk about what it’s going to take to properly defend you.  There’s a number of things we look at when we’re defending a DUI case in the Valley.Best Drunk Driving Lawyer in the San Fernando Valley

First, we want to make sure that the police pulled you over lawfully.  If the pullover was illegal, then a lot of times we can file a motion to suppress anything they found after the pullover.  That would include the:

  • breath result,
  • field sobriety test,
  • any statements that you made, and
  • any observations that the police made related to  your DUI.

Obviously, if that’s all thrown out there’s no DUI against you.  So, that’s step number one.  Was the pullover lawful.

Blood Alcohol Level

Step number two is, if the pullover was lawful, what was your blood alcohol level.  Somebody’s whose blood alcohol level is under a .08 has a very good chance to beat their DUI, or at least negotiate something with the prosecutors that’s less than a DUI.

The presumption of the law here in California, and specifically, the San Fernando Valley, is that you must have a .08 or greater in order to be charged and convicted under a driving under the influence of a DUI.

There is another Section under California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) which does not talk about the .08.  It talks about whether or not you had alcohol in your system and whether you could safely operate a motor vehicle.

Under VC 23152 , there is an argument that you could still be convicted of a DUI.  How that prove that is, first they have to prove that there’s alcohol in your system.

And in my doing thousands of cases over the last almost 30 years, they’re typically not going to charge somebody who blew under a .07.  I do see .07s charged though under the right circumstances.

They’re going to have to prove that you failed the field sobriety test and they’re going to have to prove that in their opinion, you cannot safely operate a motor vehicle.  These are proven by the police obviously making statements.  They’re gong to have to show that you blew at least a .07 or greater.

Criminal Defense for California DUI Charges

The bottom line is this, if you want the best, you’ve definitely come to the right place.  The issue is going to be what type of defense are we going to put up.  Is it one where we’re trying to find that you’re not guilty.Criminal Defense for California DUI Charges

Is it one where we’re trying to get a dismissal or do the prosecutors and police have the evidence to prove the cast against you, in which case we’re either trying to keep you out of ail or trying to get you a lesser charge.  I can’t make that decision right now.

We’ve got to meet.  I need all the facts and details and then I can begin the process of defending your DUI the right way.

If you need the best, you’ve come to the right place.  Pick up the phone.  As for a meeting with Ronald Hedding.

I stand at the ready to help you with your DUI case in the San Fernando Valley.