In San Fernando Valley, anyone who is under the age of 18 at the time that they commit a crime can be charged as a juvenile. Children as young as 12 can be charged with juvenile offenses, but these types of decisions are generally up to the discretion of probation departments.
There are many negative consequences that can result from having a juvenile conviction, and it is my job to protect people’s rights and help them avoid convictions whenever possible. The best thing for a parent of a juvenile to do is to protect their child’s record by having it sealed and destroyed.
In some cases, an individual will commit a crime when they are 16 or 17 but not be charged and prosecuted with that crime until they are in their twenties. Depending on how serious the crime was, the case could be moved into adult court.
Due to the complexity of these cases, it’s important to have a criminal defense lawyer who has experience with juvenile criminal defense and knows how to obtain the best possible result.
What Is The Arrest Process For A Juvenile In California?
If a juvenile gets arrested in Van Nuys or anywhere in the San Fernando Valley, they will be brought to the police station and their parents may or may not be alerted.
Depending on the seriousness of the case, the juvenile and their parents could be cited to the juvenile court directly from the police station or from where the minor was arrested.
In very serious cases such as robbery, the juvenile will be arrested, fingerprinted, booked, photographed, and asked to make a statement. If the police are going to hold the juvenile until the court date, then the juvenile will be housed in Sylmar Juvenile Hall or another juvenile area.
If an individual turns 18 years old while the case is still pending, they might be moved into an adult holding facility. These issues will need to be dealt with by an experienced juvenile DUI defense attorney in Los Angeles who knows how to navigate the complex and difficult juvenile system.
Penalties For Juvenile Offense Convictions In California
In the San Fernando Valley, the penalties associated with juvenile convictions depend on the seriousness of the crime. There is the potential for the person to be held in juvenile hall until they turn 25 years old.
If the crime was serious enough, they could be tried as an adult and given the maximum sentence. Regardless of whether someone is a juvenile, there are no limitations of the maximum sentence they could receive.
There are various camps that are meant to help rehabilitate juvenile convicts and get them out of the criminal justice system. There is also the option of suitable placement, which is similar to being placed in a foster home.
Suitable placements may be ordered when a juvenile does not have an appropriate environment to live in at home. In some cases, a juvenile will be allowed to stay at home and attend school while on probation and while being monitored by a probation department.
If a juvenile pleads to their charge, successfully finishes one year of probation, and completes all of the requirements pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code Section 790, then they could have the case dismissed, sealed, and destroyed.
654 resolutions pursuant to Welfare and Institution Code 790 allow juveniles to avoid pleading guilty and to have their cases wiped out after six months of doing community service, getting good grades, and cooperating with the probation department. There are many ways to resolve juvenile charges, each of which is meant to protect the public and serve the best interests of both the juvenile defendant and society.
For more information on Juvenile Courts In San Fernando Valley, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (213) 542-0940 today.